Random List - XLS Advanced Form

09-01-2017 06:43 AM
CraigMcIntyre1
New Contributor II

Hello,

I am somewhat new to Surey123 and I'm beginning to create a new survey using the XLS advanced form.

In a nut shell I am creating a cleaning audit, the user will select which unit they are at then score rooms based on cleanliness.

However I am having trouble with being able to show a random sample of rooms to be checked. I know what rooms are in each unit. 

For example:
I enter Unit A, upon selecting Unit A on my survey the next 5 questions should be the rooms that are to be audited. Which should be randomly populated from the master list of rooms. i.e Room G1, Room 3.4, Room 5.6 etc

I'd appreciate any help in regards to this.

Thanks Survey123 for ArcGISsurvey123 app#

0 Kudos
12 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hi Craig,

To better understand your use case, would you be able to share your current survey xls form? In the meantime here are a few initial questions:

Are the room types for each unit type set up as choice lists, or are they set up as different fields?

Are the set of questions for each unit type and/or room type the same?

Are you planning to use repeats for the questions associated to rooms? Or are you just wanting to hide questions based on relevance and the random selection of rooms?

Regards,

Phil.

0 Kudos
CraigMcIntyre1
New Contributor II

Hi Philip,

I've uploaded the file within the Survey123 community page.

As you'll hopefully see from the file, it is still very much a rough draft. The idea will eventually be that you select a school i.e Arkleston

Then the questions about scoring each room would be a random choice from the last list of rooms within Arkleston.

The questions will be the same for each unit, however the room types will be different. i.e Arkleston may have rooms called Room0.2, Room 3.4, Room 2.4

However other units may have rooms titled differently.

Hope this is of help!
Thanks

0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable