Flow Direction or Aspect: Which one is more suited to predict surface flow path?

03-21-2020 04:36 AM
AdityaSharma1
New Contributor

I am new to GeoNet community and had tried to search for the answer to my question, but couldn't find one. So I am writing it down here to my GIS community members, asking for their help on it.

If I was to depict the surface flow in a relatively small area of about 4 sq. Km area in a hilly terrain, would a flow direction raster (Hydrology ToolBox) be a better option or the aspect raster from (Surface Toolbox)? Or is my question redundant because practically both give almost the exact same output, barring a few outlier pixels?

Also, does the choice between the two, depend on how big or small the area under consideration is?

Thanks a lot to the community members.

Aditya Sharma

Environmental Researcher

India

0 Kudos
6 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Use flow direction

Flow Direction—Help | Documentation n 

there is way more to flow direction than aspect or D8 calculations

How Flow Direction works—Help | Documentation 

0 Kudos
AdityaSharma1
New Contributor

Thanks Dan. Appreciate the help.

I was thinking if I did use Aspect for this particular exercise (about 4 sq Kms of Hilly Terrain), would I be off the mark, by a lot? Or would there be just some minor difference between the two rasters? 

The reason I ask this is because I have already wrapped up the work using Aspect. But then I thought of making sure if Aspect did give a correct representation of the surface flow?

Thanks

Addy

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

It would only take a few seconds to compare the two, then subtract the two and compare the difference

0 Kudos
AdityaSharma1
New Contributor