Advice for using the slope tool in Spatial Analyst

Jump to solution
08-27-2014 12:12 PM
ZacharyLehmann
New Contributor III

Hey all,

I'm by no means an expert with GIS, but I have been using the software for over 8 years and know my way around pretty well. I've been having some trouble with the slope tool that I'm hoping this community might be able to help with.

I'm using 1-meter LIDAR data to create this slope data set. The result is the image attached here. Now at first I thought there was some error with the tool since it is making these lines all over the data set that are basically where the pixel values jump from one value to another. That's how the tool is supposed to work and apparently there are a lot of areas where the adjoining cells are the same value leading to this weird topo line look.

My question is does anyone know of any tips for smoothing this surface out. The model I'm trying to create needs smoother surface than this to really work and I'm not sure how to go about it considering that it's technically doing everything it's supposed to.

Does that make any sense/can anyone help?

Appreciate it.

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Ross_PaulMartin
Occasional Contributor

Zachary,