AsyncTask with query

Jump to solution
04-04-2013 05:10 AM
MatejSkerjanc
Occasional Contributor
Hello guys

I made an async task that uses featurelayer query. Shouldn't the postExecute be executed when the query has stopped? In my case it doesn't, it executes postExecute then in some time i get query results.

I'm sure there's some logical explanation but since i'm new to android it eludes me.

Can someone explain the basic procedure in this type of task (async task with a callback in the doInBackground)

Thank you in advance guys!
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
deleted-user-ATjHIWsdQYmT
Occasional Contributor III
Woa, I missed a big part of your question - You're querying a FeatureLayer.  I wonder if you don't necessarily need to execute your query using an asyncTask as the query is actually performed on the client.
http://help.arcgis.com/en/arcgismobile/10.0/apis/android/api/com/esri/android/map/ags/ArcGISFeatureL...

Is there a specific reason you want to run this as an asyncTask?  I think the query by nature runs asynchronously and the CallbackListener essentially acts as the asyncTask. 
http://help.arcgis.com/en/arcgismobile/10.0/apis/android/api/com/esri/core/map/CallbackListener.html

heck out the SelectFeatures sample.  I think it'll help get you pointed in the right direction.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Do you have any sample code for us to check out?  Are you getting any errors in your LogCat?

Make sure you're returning a FeatureSet from doInBackground to your onPostExecute method.
private class AsyncQueryTask extends AsyncTask<String, Void, FeatureSet> {

protected FeatureSet doInBackground(String... queryParams) {
//execute your query here
}
protected void onPostExecute(FeatureSet result) {
if (result != null) {
//if the query result is not null, do something....
}
}

}
0 Kudos
MatejSkerjanc
Occasional Contributor