Select to view content in your preferred language

TIN not 3D

03-12-2020 10:12 AM
BillMontgomery
Emerging Contributor

I have a TIN that is not displaying in 3D in ArcPro.

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Robert_LeClair
Esri Notable Contributor

Do you have a license for the 3D Analyst extension?  This help topic describes how to display TIN's in 2D/3D.

0 Kudos
BillMontgomery
Emerging Contributor

Hi Robt. Yes we have a University site license, and I am pretty sure we have it activated for all of the major extensions, Network, 3D, Spatial, etc. - for ArcMap I am sure of that. However, I am a complete novice when it comes to Pro. I can go check our "settings" I guess....

I have been running through all of ESRI's help stuff for DAYS, getting nowhere. This exercise worked FINE in Arcmap for years, with shapefiles, MXDs, and SXDs. Aaarrrggh

Bill

BillMontgomery
Emerging Contributor

Hi Robt - Yup, found that we have plenty of seats with ArcGIS Pro Advanced, and 3D Analyst is right there at the numero-alphic beginning of the list 

I used to tell my students that all they had to do was "learn how to ask the right question" and they would find at least one other GIS person somewhere in the world (on ESRI faqs or whatever we called it in the olden days) who had encountered their problem and had figured out a workaround. 

Now all I do is google google google and see the same da*n thing over and over and over again. What is that famous line about "insanity"? That would be me.......I need a new mantra! Furthermore I sound like some geezer. Which I am.

Bill

Robert_LeClair
Esri Notable Contributor

Ha!  I understand what you mean about insanity and old geezer. I'm 28 years in with Esri technologies - started in 1992 with ArcInfo Workstation.  Then ArcView*GIS.  Then ArcMap.  And now ArcGIS Pro!

So a licensing issue then?  Are you using Single Use, Concurrent Use or Named User?

0 Kudos
BillMontgomery
Emerging Contributor