When sharing or overwriting a web layer/hosted feature service from ArcGIS Pro to ArcGIS Online, you are given a few options for the editing settings of the feature service -- however they don't match the available settings you can find on the item details page for that service once it is up in ArcGIS Online. It would be convenient to have additional checkboxes and toggles in the dialogue window of the share/overwrite tool to match these (particularly the Editor Tracking settings!). I managed to do it through a script when overwriting a web layer from a Pro project using the ArcGIS Online API for Python, so it seems like the functionality is there. It would also help if the existing settings in Pro had their phrasing updated to match the settings in ArcGIS Online, to be as clear as possible for users.
Also, (and maybe this should be it's own idea?) when sharing/overwriting a web layer from ArcGIS Pro, you have the option to designate the time zone of the data before sending it up as a service/overwriting. It would be amazing to have that setting available on the item details page in ArcGIS Online as well, so that existing hosted feature layers in AGO uploaded from a source other than Pro can have their time zone defined.
Also also (getting nitpicky, but) it would be super helpful for some of our users to have the phrasing for the editor tracking settings on the ArcGIS Online item updated. Even just adding a "when" somewhere in the second setting would help users know that it's for tracking creation dates and edit dates, as opposed to keeping track of the user for the third setting. We get a lot of feedback with confusion over the two "Keep track of" options available.
When publishing and overwriting map services from ArcGIS Pro to ArcGIS Enterprise and/or ArcGIS Online, the user could have a radio button to "Add and update features only".
Alternatively, change the radio buttons into check boxes like in the ArcGIS Server Manager settings.
This would support requirements where app users are only allowed to add and update features. The present workaround is circuitous, laborious, and spattered among various configuration settings.
In ArcMap you are able to control editing operations when publishing a feature service. This includes the ability to turn on/off:
This is useful because I may want a field user to be able to create and update, but not delete.
In Pro it appears as though the only options are:
It would be nice to be able to more fine tune the control of services when publishing to Portal via PRO.
When publishing services from Pro, the edit options for the service are:
but we need to allow people to "add and update only", which we can do by toggling the "delete" option when publishing from ArcMap, but this isn't possible via Pro.
I know you can modify editing capabilities once published via Server Manager, but we republish services enough that adding this extra step every time is problematic.
PLEASE ADD THE ABILITY TO TOGGLE "DELETE" CAPABILITIES WHEN PUBLISHING SERVICES FROM PRO.
Also be sure to check out Ideas in ArcGIS Pro 3.0 to see what other user-driven features and functionality are included in 3.0.
See the What's New doc for everything you can expect to find when you upgrade!
You must be a registered user to add a comment. If you've already registered, sign in. Otherwise, register and sign in.