Architect working in GIS needs advice

07-11-2013 12:12 PM
NotDisclosed
New Contributor
Choosing software

Hello, I have no experience with ESRI software (or GIS), and I need your help coming up with a package.   I am assembling a site study for 700+ acres in the USA.  What I need to do:

1. Import data from other data bases (USGS, FEMA, DOI, USFW, etc)

2. Import images I can digitize for 2D spatial zones

3. Overlay the polygons and adjust transparency to produce a highest and best use map

4. Plot existing infrastructure and perform asset management for long-term

This looked like a useful model: http://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=526c50646cea49fbbc714a4171f11ba6

What I have:
Lidar
Aerials

What I can choose from:

• ArcView

• ArcGIS Publisher

• ArcGIS Spatial Analyst

• ArcGIS 3D Analyst

• ArcGIS Network Analyst

• ArcEditor

Thanks for your help!

Spidusb
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
JohnBean
New Contributor
This seems like a pretty straightforward task for a GIS consultant.  The learning curve to do all this correctly is very steep; I would suggest hiring a consultant (or a GIS-Savvy graduate student).  As for software, as a minimum you will need ArcView (now called ArcGIS Desktop Basic) and Spatial Analyst (or 3D Analyst, they have overlapping capabilities) for the LiDAR/elevation data.

John Bean, PE, GISP
GIS Manager
Hattenburg, Dilley and Linnell Engineering, LLC
3335 Arctic Boulevard Suite 100
Anchorage, Alaska 99503
907-564-2149(Office)
907-564-2122 (Fax)
JBean@HDLAlaska.com

Choosing software

Hello, I have no experience with ESRI software (or GIS), and I need your help coming up with a package.   I am assembling a site study for 700+ acres in the USA.  What I need to do:

1. Import data from other data bases (USGS, FEMA, DOI, USFW, etc)

2. Import images I can digitize for 2D spatial zones

3. Overlay the polygons and adjust transparency to produce a highest and best use map