Adding 'additional resources' for download- metadata & URLs used

01-29-2016 08:26 AM
C_EHoward
Occasional Contributor III

In order to share a fGDB and map package ( in a zip file) for download in Open Data, I enabled metadata and added the additional distribution information in the metadata per the help page here Prepare your data—ArcGIS Open Data | ArcGIS .I have 2 issues where I would like my content to appear a little nicer/more logical.  So 2 questions/comments

#1- I understand that once you enable the metadata & assign an additional resource for download, you lose the nice formatted AGOL content item page as it is replaced by a generic metadata page. Problem is that this page does not look very nice. I am new to the metadata editor in AGOL because I really do not have a use for it except to share additional files for download. Is it possible to format the metadata page to look more like the AGOL metadata?

#2- The data I am trying to share is the entire contents of the map service- which has several sublayers grouped together. I do not wish to create separate services for each item simply to share because the way it is now works in our maps and applications. 

I do not want the individual sub layers to show up in Open Data as separate items because it does not make sense to show them individually.....so I am not using the root map service URL in my AGOL content item. I have tried to assign a sublayer ID, which works if the position is assigned to a sublayer with data. If I try and assign a sublayer position used by a group layer heading, my data still shows in Open Data but does not refresh the source URL shown on the page. All other changes to the AGOL content item (title, description, etc.) appear in Open Data except the URL. Is this how it is supposed to work?