Moving ArcGIS Desktop and Server installed on the C: drive to a new D: drive

Jump to solution
01-27-2016 07:23 AM
DaveTenney
Occasional Contributor III

All,

we currently have ArcGIS Desktop and Server installed on the C: drive on a server machine. We also have a site created with services with that install. is there a preferred way moving everything over to the new 😧 drive thats been placed on the machine?

thanks for the help, newbie here looking for help!

Dave

Subject was edited by: Timothy Hales

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Dave,

You can easily change the server directories using ArcGIS Server Manager:

Editing a server directory in Manager—Documentation (10.3 and 10.3.1) | ArcGIS for Server

However, if you are looking to change the entire installation, I believe you will have to perform an uninstall/reinstall.  I would recommend looking into backing up and restoring your ArcGIS Server Site Configuration:

Back up and restore your ArcGIS Server site configuration—Documentation (10.3 and 10.3.1) | ArcGIS f...

View solution in original post

9 Replies
ChrisSmith7
Frequent Contributor

Are you just running out of space on C:\? If so, maybe this thread​ will help you to offload some of that to D:\

0 Kudos
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Dave,

You can easily change the server directories using ArcGIS Server Manager:

Editing a server directory in Manager—Documentation (10.3 and 10.3.1) | ArcGIS for Server

However, if you are looking to change the entire installation, I believe you will have to perform an uninstall/reinstall.  I would recommend looking into backing up and restoring your ArcGIS Server Site Configuration:

Back up and restore your ArcGIS Server site configuration—Documentation (10.3 and 10.3.1) | ArcGIS f...

RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus