Collector use in the backcountry

02-11-2016 11:26 AM
CatCook
New Contributor

I'm creating an off-trail guide using ArcGIS Online. I need a system for outdoor educators to easily collect data in the field that can be updated to the ArcGIS Online map. I'd like my field collection method to be simpler than the multi-step process of using a GPS device and BaseCamp.

I need a reliable, easy-to-use data collection system that works in incredibly remote areas. Collector seems like a viable option, but I have little experience with it. I would really appreciate any help in answering the questions below:

Are there any obvious drawbacks to the Offline mode of Collector?

Does Collector drain the device's battery life very quickly? It would be used for backcountry courses ranging from 30-90 days (the device will be turned off when Collector is not in use).

I am hoping that I am not the first person to use Collector for backcountry travel. Does anyone have any suggestions for a relatively inexpensive device to use with Collector in an area without cell service/WiFi?

Thank you!

0 Kudos
1 Reply
DougBrowning
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Drawbacks

For us having to download the work area each time was a pain.  Esri designed this for small areas that would be downloaded and synced each day.  We wanted all the area all the time since, like you, devices might not hit wifi for a week or more.  You can only side load a basemap not any other layers.  Also can not use the sd card so it limits space.  In the end we used a 3rd party app that lets us carry all our layers and basemaps for over 3 million acres all offline.  It could also carry 30gb of offline data on a sd card.

Battery