SQL Server - changing version within arcpy.ArcSDESQLExecute

Jump to solution
01-25-2023 02:49 PM
Steve_Salas
Occasional Contributor

I am testing some methods for quality control of data edited within a version (traditional, not branch) that is not the Default version.  I am exploring using the versioned views through arcpy.ArcSDESQLExecute (currently via ArcGIS Pro 2.9.5).  To change the version, I am calling an "execute" on the object created with ArcSDESQLExecute

EXEC dbo.set_current_version "versionname"

That seems to work fine if I am the owner of the version and can just supply the version name.  However if I need to switch to a version owned by someone else and the owner format is domain\username  (SQL Server Active Directory authentication), then I am trying to pass domain\username.versionname of some sort, usually returning "version not found".  If the owner of the version is not of the domain\username format, I seem to be able to make this work.

I am quite new to SQL Server so I might be failing to understand something there, or I'm not handling the backslash well for Python, or this might just be a really bad idea!  Thank you if anyone has a hint, otherwise I'll keep plugging away at this. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MarlonAmaya
Esri Contributor

@Steve_Salas 

You may want to submit a support ticket. 

Marlon

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
MarlonAmaya
Esri Contributor

Hi @Steve_Salas ,

Are the versions owned by the domain accounts set to public?

Versions owned by AD user's is not a problem.

To see if we can even change to a AD version using your account, you can also try using the arcpy change version in python. This will let us know what the correct syntax would be.

https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/latest/tool-reference/data-management/changeversion.htm

Marlon

0 Kudos
Steve_Salas
Occasional Contributor

Hi Marlon, the versions are actually Protected, so visible and I can Change Version: