GIS Developer career path - which development environment is best?

03-08-2023 09:01 AM
Katie_Clark
MVP Regular Contributor

Hello,

I am hoping to move my career development in the direction of GIS Developer (currently GIS Analyst). Unfortunately, I don't personally know any GIS Developers that I could ask this question...

I am wondering what environment I should be focused on developing in? Is it standard in GIS development to be comfortable developing in a Windows environment, since Esri software works best on that operating system? Or is it more standard/expected to be comfortable working in a Linux environment?

Any advice in general on moving forward in this career path is appreciated as well. Thank you in advance for your time!

Best,
Katie

“The goal is not simply to ‘work hard, play hard.’ The goal is to make our work and our play indistinguishable.”
- Simon Sinek
3 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

I've been doing GIS dev work for a few years, but I "officially" became a GIS Developer last fall. I think a lot depends on the position and the organizational needs, but do note that the components of Portal can be installed on Linux machines. My org uses Windows, so I can't really speak to the difference between the two for Portal specifically.

All that said, I would personally try to dabble in both. I prefer to do a lot of my work in Linux, and being comfortable in that environment is very useful. We also don't exclusively use Esri tools, and certain other things we use are developed in a Linux-first sort of way, so it's good to be able to use those tools in an environment they were designed for.