Survey 123 Report Template Location Coordinates

2 weeks ago
GaylynFlowers
New Contributor

Hi, I am new to Esri. I have been searching how to add location as coordinates in the report. When I export the data as excel, it has the coordinates as "x" and "y". But when I tried using this syntax, I have the error message "Failed to parse ${location | getValue:"x"} since location cannot be found in the current parsing scope." 

Can someone please help? Thanks

0 Kudos
3 Replies
abureaux
MVP Regular Contributor
  • Generally speaking, when you create a Feature Report, you can only reference fields you add to your survey yourself. A few exceptions exist for fields that Esri automatically adds to all published surveys (e.g., ObjectID).
  • When referencing fields in your survey, you must reference the field name. To get a field name you can either open the XLSX and look in the name column, or go to the Schema tab in Connect and look in the Fields column (note: if using this second approach, you many need to swap between layers/tables using the Layyers/Tables column).
  • The fields x, and y are a little odd. They always exist, but you can't call upon them in Feature Reports. (I feel like this is a deficiency and should change). Adding ${x} to your Feature Report will result in the error you saw, even though you can see x and y as columns when you export data.
  • If you add a geopoint to your survey, you can reference it and pull data as needed. In my case, I added a geopoint called ${fred}.
    abureaux_0-1713292728806.png

To use ${fred} in a Feature Report, I have a few options:

• ${fred} will result in an image being added to the Feature Report with the location.
    Result is:
    abureaux_1-1713293632754.png
    This is pretty useless most of the time.
  • ${fred | mapSettings:””:5000} zooms to a scale of 1:5000.
    Result is:
    abureaux_2-1713293642784.png
    Much better!
  • ${fred | getValue:"x"} will result in the x value being printed.
    Result is: