Best practice for creating an address field for a property survey

4 weeks ago
OllyTsimosh
New Contributor

Hi, I'm relatively new to using ArcGIS Survey123 and I was hoping to get some advise on this.

Here's my situation:
I'm assisting a co-worker with collecting data on vacant commercial properties in the local area that could be then put into a dashboard etc. The surveys are conducted bi-monthly and often the same properties appear (with maybe a change in price, real estate agent details etc).

The issue is that many of those commercial properties are shops/suites or entire floors withing a single building and the Location options in Survey123 are not accurate enough to differentiate between say a shop 1 and a shop 2 within the same building. On top of it, given that this is a rural area, some of the addresses in the geocoder are simply missing or are inaccurate.

My initial (somewhat crude) workaround was to include 2 additional text fields, one for street address and one for sub address (ie Unit 1, Shop 2 etc) that would then be pulled together by a hidden field to form their own unique address. This solution however is highly prone to things like spelling mistakes or inconsistent labelling (ie calling something a Suite one month and a shop another time) when the data is entered by individuals conducting the survey.

If anyone has previous experience building similar types of surveys or have an idea of a good way of recording this type of information, your suggestions would be highly appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Reply
abureaux
MVP Regular Contributor

There is nothing wrong with starting with a geocode field to maybe fill in a few blanks. But you can skip that step if you really want.

Essentially, Id just add separate fields for all the address components. (I would assume that your multi-tenant commercial buildings have unit/suite numbers...)