Should I upgrade to ArcGIS 10.4.1, or wait for 10.5?

Jump to solution
11-22-2016 01:21 PM
EricHeinrichs
Occasional Contributor

After a very busy summer season, we finally have some downtime to deal with some server and other back-end issues.

We have ArcGIS 10.3.1 installed right now, and we are looking at updating to the latest release of Server and Portal.

Should we go ahead and upgrade to 10.4.1, or should we wait until next month, when 10.5 is slated for release.

I have never done an update before, and I wasn't around to set up our original install, so I am not sure how much work it will be. 

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DerekLaw
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Eric,

I would wait until ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5 (the new name for the ArcGIS for Server product) is released next month. You will get all the latest enhancements and it is an in-place upgrade.

And to learn more about ArcGIS Enterprise: What is ArcGIS Enterprise?—Documentation | ArcGIS for Server 

Hope this helps,

View solution in original post

8 Replies
DerekLaw

Hi Eric,

I would wait until ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5 (the new name for the ArcGIS for Server product) is released next month. You will get all the latest enhancements and it is an in-place upgrade.

And to learn more about ArcGIS Enterprise: What is ArcGIS Enterprise?—Documentation | ArcGIS for Server 

Hope this helps,

EricHeinrichs
Occasional Contributor

Hi Derek,

Thanks for your input! We will wait until 10.5 is released before we update.

0 Kudos
DerekLaw

Hi Eric,

FYI, ArcGIS 10.5 final is now available for download from Esri Accounts.

The following products are available with this release:

• ArcGIS Desktop
  • ArcGIS Enterprise (Windows) – Includes Portal
  • ArcGIS Enterprise (Linux) – Includes Portal
  • ArcGIS Enterprise Workgroup – in Enterprise (Windows)
  • ArcGIS Engine Developer Kit
  • ArcGIS Engine
  • ArcGIS for INSPIRE
  • Esri Business Analyst Desktop with 2016 U.S. Data