I just encountered a weird issue (feature?) in Pro (I'm on version 3.1.0).
While in working in a project, I decided to create a new one to better organize my data. I clicked the new project button in the top left of my quick access toolbar, filled out the relevant information, and clicked ok. Arc immediately closed the project I was working in (thankfully asked to save first) and seemed to open my new one in its place.
Is there a way to disable this? Is it a bug? What if I had been in the middle of geoprocessing in my current project and lost all my progress because of this?
This is the first time I've ever encountered a program that closes an existing project/file to open a new one.