Hi there,
I noticed this in ArcGIS Online recently and would like anyone to confirm if this is expected behavior
I recently shared only a web map to a specific private ArcGIS Online group. To avoid confusion, I will call it group A. WIthin this particular web map, there are a series of layers not shared to Group A. The layers are shared with other groups (B, C or D and so on).
I have an ArcGIS Online account that I used to access this web map. This account is only a member of group A and contains the role with editing privileges. When I access the web map using the account, it appears to me that I can see all of the layers?
I was under the impression that the layers in the web map would not be visible since my account is not a member of the other groups that the content layers are shared. Furthermore, I was prompted to update the sharing when I initially shared the web map to group A (Please see attached for reference as it indicates that layers in the web map may not be visible). I chose to cancel the update sharing and stick to only sharing the web map and it turns out that I was still able to see the layers without updating it. This behavior seems to go against the Esri's documentation that in order for users to see layers in a web map, the layers must be shared similarly to the web map.
Some may think that I may have shared these layers as an organization layer. However, it is not the case, we do not share anything to the organization and public. Everything is shared specifically to the private ArcGIS Online groups.
Let me know your thoughts.
Thanks