Timeout of layers -- max # of instance for dedicated pool??

03-05-2024 08:56 AM
Laura
by MVP Regular Contributor
MVP Regular Contributor

I am new to the instance side of enterprise. I have moved my users over to new maps in Portal and there seems to be a lot of timeout of layers with them not loading and various random issues. What should I be setting my max instances to per machine? All of my Enterprise deployment is one 1 server (hoping to change that in the future). I was told use dedicated for those that are used a lot (which is most of my layers) but it hasn't seemed to help at all. 

0 Kudos
6 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

It really depends on the kinds of workflows the layers will support. Have you looked at using shared instances, though? Unless you're working with an advanced dataset like the parcel fabric, etc., shared instances can really smooth things out. We've got dozens of layers being used all day, but since they use the shared instance pool, performance is pretty stable.

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS
0 Kudos
Laura
MVP Regular Contributor

I was told dedicated is the way to go but now I'm not so sure. 

0 Kudos
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

It might be, but it's going to be case-by-case. I would be skeptical of any advice that applies a blanket policy to all use cases, at least on this topic.

To give you more examples, our main public layers (parcels, boundaries, etc), are in the shared instance pool. Those layers are referenced by dozens of maps, apps, Pro projects, and Survey123 forms in use most business days. I have never had an issue with the service itself failing to respond.

Our parcel fabric, on the other hand, is completely internal, with perhaps one or two users editing it on a given day. It actually doesn't need more than a couple of dedicated instances, and we even set the minimum to 0 because there's no impact to our stakeholders if the layers take a few extra seconds to start up initially.