Oracle switch from Windows to Linux

Jump to solution
12-08-2022 01:07 AM
Labels (2)
JamesMorrison1
Occasional Contributor

Good Morning Everyone

In the near future our IT department wish to switch our Oracle 19c geodatabases from Windows to LINUX

Naturally, we will need to use the ESRI specific libraries - libst_shapelib.so - on LINUX. Sorry I am far from a LINUX expert.

Question 1: Do these ESRI libraries only work with a certain LINUX Version, see list from Oracle below?

Question 2: Are there any other known issues which could arise in such a switch?

The following Linux x86-64 kernels are supported:

• Oracle Linux 8.1 with the Unbreakable Enterprise Kernel 6: 5.4.17-2011.0.7.el8uek.x86_64 or later
    Oracle Linux 8 with the Red Hat Compatible kernel: 4.18.0-80.el8.x86_64 or later
  • Oracle Linux 7.4 with the Unbreakable Enterprise Kernel 4: 4.1.12-124.19.2.el7uek.x86_64 or later
    Oracle Linux 7.4 with the Unbreakable Enterprise Kernel 5: 4.14.35-1818.1.6.el7uek.x86_64 or later
    Oracle Linux 7.7 with the Unbreakable Enterprise Kernel 6: 5.4.17-2011.4.4.el7uek.x86_64 or later
    Oracle Linux 7.5 with the Red Hat Compatible Kernel: 3.10.0-862.11.6.el7.x86_64 or later
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8: 4.18.0-80.el8.x86_64 or later
  • Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.5: 3.10.0-862.11.6.el7.x86_64 or later
  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 15: 4.12.14-23-default or later
  • SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 12 SP3: 4.4.162-94.72-default or later

Feedback welcome and thank you.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MarceloMarques
Esri Regular Contributor

Question 1: Do these ESRI libraries only work with a certain LINUX Version, see list from Oracle below?

Answer:  
ArcGIS 11.0 and ArcGIS Pro 3.0 requirements for Oracle—ArcGIS Enterprise | Documentation for ArcGIS ...

Esri supports the following four operating systems when you use the ST_Geometry shape library and configure Oracle external procedure (extproc).

• IBM AIX (64 bit)
  • Linux (64 bit)