Select to view content in your preferred language

Geodatabase Owner

a month ago
GregCarlino2
Occasional Contributor

Question:

I am a fairly new geodatabase administrator and am running into an issue regarding the geodatabase owner.  I was told that the geodatabase is owned by/uses an 'SDE' schema, yet all the layers therein are prefixed with 'DBO', as in 'database.DBO.parcels'.  If SDE was used, then wouldn't all the layers be prefixed with 'SDE'?

When I try to publish a layer topology, the analysis fails and throws a warning that the connected user 'SysAdmin' is not the dataset's owner, 'DBO'. 

I do not have any 'DBO' user credentials, so I'm wondering if our IT department/SQL Database Administrator is mistaken.  Is there a way to definitively tell with which user/schema the geodatabase was set up as?

Thanks,

Greg

0 Kudos
3 Replies
MarlonAmaya
Esri Contributor

Hi @GregCarlino2 

A geodatabase admin and data owner are two separate users in most circumstances. Is your db user name sysadmin? sa? for the failed publish attempt?

If your data is database.DBO.parcels, this likely means that your account that you login in (and created the data) with has sysadmin server role at the login level. This will automatically map your login to the DBO schema in SQL Server. 

Now, your enterprise geodatabase can still be owned by the SDE user. You can confirm this by checking who owns the Default version. Right click DB connection and go the administration --> versions. What is the user that owns Default? This will tell you what schema owns the geodatabase repository tables.

Marlon

MarceloMarques
Esri Regular Contributor

@GregCarlino2 - the ArcSDE Geodatabase Repository can be owned by "DBO" or by the user named "SDE".

read more here  Create Enterprise Geodatabase (Data Management)—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation

My recommendation is to avoid the "DBO" and always use the "SDE" user.