What is your opinion about external data for proper Geo Analysis?

04-03-2024 01:08 PM
Labels (2)
FaustoGarcia
New Contributor

What is your opinion about external data for proper Geo Analysis?

Summary: As a GIS professional, I believe that incorporating external data sources is essential for robust geospatial analysis. These additional datasets enrich our understanding of spatial patterns, enhance accuracy, and provide context for informed decision-making.

My Perspective:  As a GIS enthusiast with over 20 years of experience, I have worked across diverse industries and on various projects. Throughout this journey, I’ve observed that many companies tend to focus solely on internal data—answering the ‘what,’ ‘where,’ ‘how,’ ‘when,’ and ‘why’ within their operations. However, to gain a comprehensive understanding, we must also apply these same questions externally. By studying external variables, including competitor analyses and demographic data, we can develop robust projects that address critical challenges and find effective solutions

Tags (4)
2 Replies
BrookeHewitt
New Contributor II

Absolutely, I couldn't agree more with the importance of integrating external data into geospatial analysis. In my years of working in GIS, I've found that relying solely on internal data limits the scope and depth of insights we can derive. External data sources provide valuable context, helping us see the bigger picture and make more informed decisions. Whether it's demographic information, environmental data, or market trends, incorporating these external factors enriches our analyses and ultimately leads to more effective outcomes.

EzekielAlao
New Contributor II

Hello @FaustoGarcia