Overlapping Features: Platted Lands

Jump to solution
02-16-2024 08:01 AM
Labels (2)
GrantCountyGISSup
New Contributor III

Good Morning,

I am fairly new to editing in the Parcel Fabric.  One issue I can't seem to get around is that for my platted lands layer, I have surveys that do overlap from time to time, whether it's a split or merge or boundary line verification, etc... 

I do not want to set any of the platted lands to historic because there are many people who use these layers to help them in their research (surveys, title companies, attorneys, etc).

Is there a way to allow the features to overlap and work properly in the parcel fabric without setting them to historical?  The only scenario I would set to historical is if the survey indicates it's a Replat or Correction of a previous survey.

Our current Platted lands has the Original survey metes and bounds

GrantCountyGISSup_0-1708099103367.png

Here is a clip of the Original from 2002:

GrantCountyGISSup_1-1708099151638.png

Here is another survey from 2013:

GrantCountyGISSup_2-1708099236818.png

Thank you in advance!

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Kevin_Priestley
New Contributor II

Records play an important role in building parcels, too. Records are the digital representation of legal descriptions.

From what you've described in your posts, it seems like the red parcel and the yellow parcel belong to different records (e.g. they are referenced in different legal descriptions).

If you assign boundary lines for the red and yellow parcels to their respective records, the create seeds and build tools should ignore overlapping lines that belong to different records.

View solution in original post

8 Replies
ChristineLeslie
Esri Contributor