Web Map print feature to export or download file issues

12-28-2023 02:14 PM
LRSmith
New Contributor III

Hello. Full disclosure, I am a graphic designer who collaborates with Geospatial/GIS professionals. 

I'm working on a publication that features many of the data accessed produced using ArcGIS online web service applications , hubs etc. by my team professionals. 

I would like to provide print/export instructions for team members who supply me with data using the print/export features provided. 

In addition, I particularly prefer the Albers projection which I feel produces nicer looking CONUS map. My prefered file type is vector .AIX (and .PDF to check the results) so I can enhance them for publications. We've had success in the past exporting from ArcMap and now ArcGIS Pro Desktop. A lot of the data are now uploaded and available on online web applications with the option to print/export downloads. 

I understand the default base maps projection is 102100 WGS_1984_Web_Mercator_Auxiliary_Sphere which I use for the zoomed in maps.

When I select 102003 USA_Contiguous_Albers_Equal_Area_Conic, I get mixed results for PDF. Sometimes the map is cropped. I've tried all the Map scale/extent options, drawing a box then trying all the options again. (Obviously, this is the draw feature is not intended to be used for as a crop area tool) A hover over with explanation in addition a link with more detailed help page that explains what each option including visuals of the results including most common uses to get one started would be greatly appreciated 🙂

Listed is what kind of worked with comments/questions
(Possibly some answers lie with the person building the web application can control?): 
Layout: MAP ONLY (Non of the other options such as selecting Tabloid ANSI B Landscape) worked
Format: PDF to view online followed by .AIX
Advanced Possibly a drop down with pre-selection options in addition to a blank fill-in would be helpful for most all of these Advanced options