arcpy.mangement CalculateField in AGOL Notebook "Error in executing Tool"

Jump to solution
05-08-2023 04:40 PM
MattTarkington1
New Contributor III

Hi yall,

I'm just starting to learn about python and notebooks and I'm attempting to use a series of arcpy tools to  create a price calculation tool for some line layers. I won't go to far into the full details, but at the moment I'm having issue's with arcpy.management.CalculateField.

So we'll get to it. Here's my code (specifics removed to protect the innocent):

from arcgis.gis import GIS
gis = GIS("home")
from arcgis.features import FeatureLayer
import arcpy
#next cell
line_url = ("https://services8.arcgis.com/desired/line/layer/etc")
Line = FeatureLayer(line_url)
#next cell
arcpy.management.CalculateField(in_table=Line, field="$feature.Key", expression="$feature.Value1 + $feature.Value2", expression_type="ARCADE")[0]

And here is the error.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
RuntimeError                              Traceback (most recent call last)
Input In [56], in <cell line: 9>()

----> 9 arcpy.management.CalculateField(in_table=Line, field="$feature.Key", expression="$feature.Value1 + $feature.Value2", expression_type="ARCADE")[0]

File /opt/conda/lib/python3.9/site-packages/arcpy/management.py:5788, in CalculateField(in_table, field, expression, expression_type, code_block, field_type, enforce_domains)
   5786     return retval
   5787 except Exception as e:
-> 5788     raise e

File /opt/conda/lib/python3.9/site-packages/arcpy/management.py:5785, in CalculateField(in_table, field, expression, expression_type, code_block, field_type, enforce_domains)
   5783 from arcpy.arcobjects.arcobjectconversion import convertArcObjectToPythonObject
   5784 try:
-> 5785     retval = convertArcObjectToPythonObject(gp.CalculateField_management(*gp_fixargs((in_table, field, expression, expression_type, code_block, field_type, enforce_domains), True)))
   5786     return retval