High Density VPR

02-29-2024 04:32 PM
MohamadAYassin
New Contributor

I am still at the beginning of a large-scale route optimization project. 

Without mentioning names, I previously used other platform/tool for high density VPR. It was a great and easy to use tool. So, I am familiar with all the constraints and inputs considered in high density VPR. It can be configured as simple or complex as needed.

I am still new to network analysis. I am trying to figure out the network dataset part first. I haven't thought about it well so I'd appreciate all input. I was thinking about finding online classes. I need to learn how to create and configure network datasets because they are the mose important component that can be applied to many probelms.

I already have the regional road network dataset published by our regional GIS joint authority. Plugging it into ArcPro isn't working properly. I created a column for time cost which was missing in the original set. However, when I config the network dataset in ArcPro it was allowing me to only choose distance as cost. Then somehow I figured out how to add time cost instead of length but not both. I used packaged network datasets when I was going to school but never had this issue before.

Then, after I figure out the network dataset (or end up using Esri's credits), I will plug in my data which is nicely cleaned and scrubbed. I have all delivery sites as parcel center points. And I have all vehicles (routes) classified according to multiple attributes which I will process in batches (sections).

Each vehicle has a capacity and each site has a delivery value based on geographic section. I have multiple depots identified and their operational hours identified. I also have basic crew constraints.

Basically, I want the calculation to be mostly based on capacity and traveling cost.