Button to toggle visibility of another layout element

Jump to solution
01-04-2024 01:16 PM
Labels (1)
ZorbaConlen1
Occasional Contributor III

Hi. I'd like to add a button to the interface that will toggle the visibility of another element. Let's say, a table widget.  It's fine if the widget is nested in another layout widget if that's the way to configure it. I'm not intending to use the dev edition. Is this possible OOTB?

Button link options include both 'View' and 'Window', but neither seems to work as desired. Windows are modal and that's not what I need. I'm not having luck with the View option either. Could be just that I'm new to ExB though.

Another option would be toggle or open a sidebar, but from other posts, I'm seeing that's not feasible.

Thanks.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JeffreyThompson2
MVP Regular Contributor

The Button Widget linking to a View should work. Where you might be getting tripped up is that the views are managed through the Section Widget. Place your disappearing widget inside of one view within the Section Widget and make the default view blank and transparent. This should make a widget appear out of nowhere, but you will need to build a second 'Close Table' button to make it go away. Also keep in mind that the transparent empty view will make whatever is under it non-reactive.

Or you could just use the buttons built into a Sidebar or Widget Controller.

GIS Developer
City of Arlington, Texas

View solution in original post

6 Replies
JeffreyThompson2
MVP Regular Contributor