Wrong DSM and DTM elevation

02-08-2024 08:34 PM
VarvaraVedukhina
New Contributor II

Hi! I am new in Drone2Map and need help with image processing. I have processed my images and got the wrong elevation in my DSM/DTM. I tried different coordinate settings. For example, the altitude of the processing images is about 98 meters and the value of the DTM is about -5 to -20 meters for these settings:

VarvaraVedukhina_0-1707452456549.png

Another example: DTM elevation from -11 to -61 USft for these coordinate settings.

VarvaraVedukhina_1-1707453029527.png

The rial terrain elevation is about 325-304 US ft or 99-92 meters.

I have checked the camera settings. It looks correct. The ground-controlled points are not applied. Please, help.

0 Kudos
11 Replies
MervynLotter
Occasional Contributor III

Drones are terrible at recording elevation. Do use ground control points as they not only record X and Y, but also Z values. 

See Ground control—ArcGIS Drone2Map Help | Documentation

Pål_Herman_Sund
Occasional Contributor II

Hehe, maybe not terrible @MervynLotter , but: 
If you have a drone without RTK or PPK GPS you will have to use the GCP's to arrive at "correct" heights, as the recorded XYZ are "far off" or more correct; with code-GPS precision and z possibly relative WGS84 ellipsoid.

If you do use RTK/PPK it might be a height-transformation you are missing - and/or the drone height reference is mismatching the settings you use in Drone2Map. For many height transformations you might need to install the "ArcGIS Coordinate Systems Data" which you will find in My Esri together with the Drone2Map installation package. 

VarvaraVedukhina
New Contributor II

Thank you for your reply! I don't have an RTK drone or GCP, but how do I understand even if I use only a Drone consumer's GPS the error in vertical position can be about a couple of meters, not 100? 

0 Kudos
CodyBenkelman
Esri Regular Contributor

Varvara