Data expression to count attributes in multiple fields

Jump to solution
10-26-2023 08:47 AM
Labels (1)
Eimear
by
New Contributor III

Hi everyone,

I'm new to data expressions and I'm having some trouble writing an expression to create a table in an AGOL dashboard. I need to write an expression that will count the occurrence of "Non_compliant" in a few fields of my  FeatureLayer. See screenshot of 

EimearT_0-1698334270203.png

I'm trying to produce a table like below in the dashboard:

EimearT_1-1698334447506.png

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Yes, you'd need to include dates in your data for any filters to work. Using GroupBy is going to eliminate any fields not in the grouping or calculated fields. In order to include the date, your output FeatureSet actually can't be aggregated at all.

That's not necessarily a problem, though, depending on how you're using the output. If you change the second parameter of your GroupBy to be a list like this:

return GroupBy(
  fs,
  [
    {name: 'NonComp', expression: "'Non_compliant'"},
    {name: 'collection_date', expression: 'collection_date'}
  ],
  // etc
)

The resulting FeatureSet will have your non-compliant counts per date.

Now, if you were to bring this Data Expression into something like an Indicator, Chart, or Table widget, the widget itself can further aggregate the data, so you can still get the full total, but the underlying layer will have a Date field baked in for filtering.

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

You can do this with GroupBy, which outputs a FeatureSet, so it's nice and easy.

var fs = FeatureSetByPortalItem(
  Portal('your portal url'),
  'itemid of layer',
  ['Pitch', 'ClubHouse', 'CarPark']
  false
)

return GroupBy(
  fs,
  {name: 'noncomp', expression: "'Non-Compliant'"},
  [