Spatial join of lines to closest points: discrepency in points total and count

01-24-2012 10:53 AM
MasonPatterson
New Contributor
I am a graduate student at Virginia Tech Department of Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation.  I am using ArcGIS to model sample street tree inventory procedures.  The input data in my project consists of two layers: a points layer containing GPS locations and attribute data for all of the street trees in a city of interest and a TIGER/Line shapefile of all of the streets. 

In order to simulate street tree sampling, I have to generate a count of the number of tree points along each street lines.  To accomplish this I have been right clicking on my street lines layer and selecting join.  I select to join the data so that "Each line will be given a summary of the numeric attributes of the points that are closest to it.  

I have run into a bit of a snag when spatially joining a lines layer to a points layer.  In some instances, particularly when dealing with larger street tree population (>5,000) trees, the total for the tree count column in the joined attribute table is slightly greater (never less) than the number of trees in the points shapefile.  For instance, when I spatially joined 40,321 street trees to a population of street lines and total the tree count in the resulting attribute was 40,345 trees.