Remove "excess" after applying kriging interpolation

10-18-2012 04:36 AM
EmmaGale
New Contributor
Apologies if this is not the correct place, or if this has been answered before, but I am new to ArcGIS so struggling a bit.

I have points with precipitation values, and I have applied kriging from the interpolation tools so that I have an interpolated precipitation surface for Thailand.

However, this has been done to a rectangle about the same size as Thailand, so includes areas that are ocean/other countries that I am not interested in.

Is there a way to only display the interpolation within Thailand?

I have (hopefully attached the example of the current map I have). I want to have everything inside the black line depicting the border or Thailand.

Thanks in advance! (Also, I am very new to all of this, and teaching myself, so please explain things in a very basic step-by-step way).
0 Kudos
4 Replies
MarcinGasior
Occasional Contributor III
To produce surface only in country boundaries you have to set Environment Settings.

Click Environments... button on the botton of tool dialog.
In Processing Extent section select "Same as layer 'Boundaries'" where 'Boundaries' is layer with country boundary.
In Raster Analysis section select 'Boundaries' layer.

This should ensure that output raster is nicely clipped to boundaries.

Moreover, you may look at article Interpolating Surfaces in ArcGIS Spatial Analyst to read about other interpolation methods (as kriging is not always best option).
0 Kudos
EmmaGale
New Contributor
Thanks!

That kinda works, except for the fact the layer I have for my country borders is a worldwide one, so it only snaps to the continent border. Do you know how to just extract the Thailand shape out of that layer (I could really do with a layer that is just the outline of Thailand but haven't be able to find one and I don't know how to make it myself)?
0 Kudos
EricRice
Esri Regular Contributor
Greetings,