Select to view content in your preferred language

How My Internship Shaped My Career

09-26-2023 07:50 AM
CarolineSampa
Esri Contributor
7 1 994

Before I graduated from college, I knew I wanted to have a job lined up when I graduated. That’s why 8 months before I graduated, I updated my resume, I picked out my most professional outfit, and I headed to the career fair at my university. I remember the surprise of seeing Esri at the career fair, you mean they might be interested in someone like me?

I nervously approached the booth and spoke with the recruiter. After a quick conversation she started to talk about the next steps! I couldn’t believe it; I was going to land the job! And then, it all came crashing down when she said, “you would be a great candidate for our internship.” Me? The soon to be graduate? Doing an internship, after I graduate? No way!

I left the career fair feeling cautious. Did I really want to do an internship? I had already done a few of those. As I continued to reflect, I decided I would explore the opportunity more, ask questions, and continue with the interview process.

I interviewed for the internship just a few weeks later and felt the excitement come back as I spoke with my soon to be Esri colleagues. Everyone was kind, funny, and so extremely intelligent. Just a few weeks later I had an offer from a different company for a full-time job, and an offer from Esri for an internship. I decided to accept the internship, and I could not have begun to imagine how the internship would end up shaping my life and career for years to come.

CarolineSampa_6-1695739461786.png

What I learned from my Esri Internship

How to Network like a Professional