Verify Geoportal Tables Were Generated Correctly

09-03-2012 03:06 PM
ScottAndreasen
New Contributor
Hello,

I am in the process of setting up a Geoportal Server and have some questions (as this is my first attempt at anything like this).

Following an article on How to Set Up an Esri Geoportal Server published last year I am attempting to set up a demo GeoPortal Server on my Windows 7 laptop. There have been updates to all the required software mentioned in the article and I have chosen to download/install the newest versions of the following software (rather than locating and installing the previous version mentioned): Esri Geoportal Server, PostgreSQl, Apache Tomcat, JDK with Runtime, JDBC Config file.

I get through the steps OK until I am asked to verify that the Geoportal Tables Were Generated Correctly. My 'tables' folder (as seen in pgAdmin III are empty). This makes me think that I made an error in the previous steps to Populate the Geoportal Schema in PostgreSQL. I go back and redo the steps but find no difference. In fact, I uninstalled everything and reinstalled everything and get the same error.

So my questions are....

• If I use the step by step guide, should I use the download versions mentioned in How to Set Up an Esri Geoportal Server?

• If not, can someone please help me generate the Geoportal Tables correctly?

• Or, am I asking the wrong questions entirely? Is there something fundamental that I am missing here?

Please help...
Thanks
0 Kudos
5 Replies
ZhongPingGuo
Esri Contributor
Hi,

The steps in the "How to Set Up an Esri Geoportal Server" article should still be valid, but you should download and install the latest version of geoportal (1.2.2) instead, the following link contain more recent information for the new version including software requirements and installation guide.

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/geoportal/index.php?title=Installation_Version_1.2.2