Select to view content in your preferred language

Issue uploading maps to Google Earth.

09-29-2011 10:11 AM
AndrewRoberts2
Deactivated User
I'm a GIS student and I have a bunch of historical maps of which I want to upload to Google Earth so they can overlay the specific area which they cover...

Right now I have my maps as .mxd files containing a .jpg of the map which is georeferenced. The data is raster and thats what's giving me the biggest headache.

First I tried the "Map to KML" function in ArcMap v.10 under conversion tools. This worked but unfortunatly, what I believe to be the compression during the conversion, reduces the map's resolution when I open it in Google Earth.

The next thing I tried (because I have access to Google Earth Pro) was to upload the file as a ".tif" so there would be no conversion/compression. This also worked but it was not covering the right area because it was not georeferenced.

So I need to solve one of two issues and I'm hoping someone here can help me out because I can't find anything on these issues.

1.) How to convert a .mxd file (Raster data!) to .KML without the compression or loss of resolution.
OR
2.) How to combine the .tif and .tfw (World file) into a georeference GeoTIFF that I can upload using Google Earth Pro.

So if anyone can point me to a good way of solving either of these problems it would be apprecaited! 🙂

Thanks!!
0 Kudos
6 Replies
AndrewRoberts2
Deactivated User
bump... still haven't found a solution for this issue.
0 Kudos
michaelcollins1
Frequent Contributor
what did you use for Map Output Scale and Output Image Properties?
0 Kudos
SimonKettle
Frequent Contributor
Have you attempted to try loading the files in ArcMap with the Bing maps basemap or using ArcExplorer instead of Google Earth?

Adding to Michaels comments above: