Excel File

Jump to solution
03-26-2015 08:31 PM
ABDALLAMOHAMED
Occasional Contributor

hello ..I have my data in excel file and I wanted to convert it to points, add xy coordinates and finally create a shape file.. I need your help please...Considering this is my first time to deal with this type of data.

Thanks a lot

ABDALLA

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ABDALLAMOHAMED
Occasional Contributor

ok let me try it and see

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
10 Replies
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Hi,

1) Convert XY table to XY event layer

Choose appropriate spatial reference (e.g. GCS_WGS_1984)

2) Export the XY event layer to feature class.

Think Location
0 Kudos
ABDALLAMOHAMED
Occasional Contributor

Jayanta..Thanks for your reply. I don't have xy table, but I have excel file with crime data in 10 counties. My question is how to add xy coordinates and convert it to a point.

Thanks a lot

0 Kudos
VictorKlinkenberg
New Contributor III

Hi Abdalla,

What is available in your table - only county names? if that is the case, see if you can find the coordinates for the counties and add them to the table (one column x one column y).

perhaps give an example of your data?

0 Kudos
ABDALLAMOHAMED
Occasional Contributor

Hi Victor..I have crime data from 10 counties in Colorado. The table only has years and types of crime e.g murder, homicide etc. it doesn't have any xy coordinates. I'm attaching a sample with this message

Thanks a lot

0 Kudos
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

You can use the excel sheet as a XY table. XY table is just a generic term.

Think Location
0 Kudos
ABDALLAMOHAMED
Occasional Contributor

ok let me try it and see

0 Kudos
VictorKlinkenberg
New Contributor III

Hi Abdalla,