Save multiple "unique value" symbols to style

Jump to solution
11-20-2020 04:40 AM
BenHarwood
New Contributor

I'm working with a fairly long list of rock types for a detailed geology map, and I've just spent a bunch of time fixing the "unique values" colours for all the different rock types for one layer. Now I have a second layer for a different area that I'd like to colour using the same legend. I would have thought it would be easy to save the complete symbology for a layer to a style file and "pick a legend" for the new layer. All I can find by searching "saving styles" is to save each colour one at a time, and then the colours are not linked directly to each unique "ROCKTYPE."

I'm new to ArcGIS so bear with me. I'm sure it must be easy to do and I'm just missing something... Thanks.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

Are the rock type names the same?

if so you could:

https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/help/mapping/layer-properties/import-symbology-from-another-layer....

or save as a layer file for repeated use

View solution in original post

5 Replies
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

Are the rock type names the same?

if so you could:

https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/help/mapping/layer-properties/import-symbology-from-another-layer....

or save as a layer file for repeated use

BenHarwood
New Contributor