Select to view content in your preferred language

ArcMap stopped working in September and I can't get it to function again!

Jump to solution
11-06-2019 10:24 PM
OriGalili
New Contributor II

I have had ArcGIS on my computer since October 2018. I am a Masters student in Israel and the software is under the university license.

2 months ago- September 2019, the program just stopped responding, though the license is still up to date. In order to get technical support from ESRI Israel, the IT guy at the univeristy needs to put in a request, which he is refusing to because the program is on a private computer (I have not recieved access from the university to any other computer).

So for 2 months now i've tried everything (bought additional RAM, when to a technition to "clean up" my computer, uninstalled and reinstalled, upgraded from version 10.4 to 10.6) nothing is working and I desperatly need tech support. I have even called tech support in the USA and in England and havent been able to get any assistance. What am i supposed to do now?

Please any advice would be much appreciated. Desperate times here...

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RachelSears
Occasional Contributor II

Hi Ori,

Have you tried a clean uninstall of ArcMap? This does more than a regular uninstall because it removes all traces of ArcGIS components from your machine. This will resolve issues where a corrupt DLL might be causing this behavior. Here are the steps:

1. Ensure no ArcGIS Desktop processes are running in the Task Manager.
  2. Uninstall ArcGIS Desktop from your machine using the Control Panel.
  3. Rename or delete the following folders:
    1. C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\ESRI\Desktop10.x and any other Desktop folders
      C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\ESRI\Desktop10.x
      C:\Program Files(x86)\ArcGIS\Desktop10.x
      C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\StartMenu\Programs\ArcGIS\
  4. Open the registry editor (regedit on Windows) and delete or rename the following: