I need to print to specific scale with accuracy in ArcGIS Online

08-22-2019 07:49 AM
KennieHarris
New Contributor II

I am a GIS Analyst for a local government. Our data is in State Plane. I need to build an app in ArcGIS Online for printing parcel maps that prints and measures accurately. Web Mercator is off by many feet. I can build it using our data as a basemap, but then I can't use any of esri's basemaps with it. When I do it reprojects my data into web mercator.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
by Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hi Kennie Harris‌,

My understanding is that it is not possible to reproject Esri Basemaps in ArcGIS Online. They will always be in Web Mercator. However, when using a Basemap in a State Plane projection, you can add an imagery layer made accessible in ArcGIS Online and the Web Map will remain in the State Plane projection. If you are able to find fine-scale imagery for your area in ArcGIS Online this may work. 

Alternatively if you have ArcGIS Enterprise you can publish a cached Map Service or Image Service in your State Plane projection and use this as the Basemap. 

Hope this helps,

Peter

0 Kudos
by Anonymous User
Not applicable