Exporting to CAD and issues in Z coordinate

06-26-2022 02:33 AM
AliM
by
New Contributor

Hello Everybody;

I'm quite new to GIS so I may please you bear with me.

I have managed to get bathymetric contour lines from DEM. The contour lines have z values and they are coordinated (I will add screenshots). However once I export my contour lines to Civil3D it looks exactly the same like in arcgis from top view but once i change the perspective , the contours line up on z axis.
I have applied Feature to 3d by attribute but I still couldnt find what the problem is and I have been dealing with this problem for a while.

I'm ready to bring up any other screenshot with respect to wish.

Sincerely
Ali

0 Kudos
4 Replies
DanWade
Esri Contributor

Hello Ali,

Thank you for using ArcGIS for AutoCAD! This should be a really simple fix to get those elevations on each contour line within Civil 3D. To display the contour lines within Civil 3D, or most any Autodesk product we need to fill in the Elevation values for each contour. Although this value does not come across when converted from ArcGIS for 2D polylines we should have a column labeled "Contours" or "Elevation" and in this column will be the contours height values for these 2D polylines from ArcGIS.

1) We can simply run an ArcGIS for AutoCAD command, "Esri_ElevateToField", to Programmatically set those elevation values we need in the Autodesk product of choice. Then when you manipulate the drawing to a 3D view the contours will be on their correct elevation.

If by chance after running this command you still have issues please provide screen captures of the Attribute Table from ArcGIS Pro and also ArcGIS for AutoCAD.

This should get you up and running, but if not please let us know.

AliM
by
New Contributor

The words I can write you here will not be enough to explain how much I'm thankful to you. Thank you so very much. I really appreciate it a lot.

It worked and finally I got a 3d shaped contours as I desired.