Intro

10-09-2023 02:13 PM
AidanWilliams1
New Contributor

Hi everyone, I am new to the ESRI community forum and I am a graduate student of Geographic Information Science. I need help correcting some GPS points that were incorrectly collected in the field using Field Maps. 

I'm hoping to connect with someone at ESRI that might be able to explain how we can fix this situation. 

We were using field maps to collect GPS points, but we accidentally collected the points using two different datums. Some points were collected using NAD83 and others were collected using WGS84. The points were stored in one single layer in our ArcGIS Online web map. We then opened the point layer using ArcGIS Pro desktop. We don't know exactly which points belong to which datum. When we open the layer in ArcGIS Pro, the layer is in the WGS84 Web Mercator projection. We need all of the points to be in NAD83, but we realized there is error in the points that were collected in WGS84.

What happens to the GPS points when they go through ArcGIS online? Does the coordinate system stay the same? How can we correct the layer of GPS points so that they are all the same datum?

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Aidan

2 Replies
MichaelLohr
Occasional Contributor II
Aiden, you may get a better response from someone else, or this could turn into a tech support call. Reprojections and transformations are pretty complex and many others are far better versed than I am .
How many points are we talking about total and how many are in the wrong datum?
I think what you have to do is to come up with a way that you can segregate the two point sets, either based on dates/times collected, unique IDs, or one of the GNSS metadata fields like receiver name. Once you are able to segregate the points, then the incorrect datum set would need to be reprojected to the correct coord system.