The Great Wave North - speculative fiction of probable North American population displacement

2 weeks ago
AndrewLechner
New Contributor II

Hello everyone!

I'm a writer. And I'm using EB to tell the story of the Great Wave North, where I use existing climate data to imagine a series of super storms that destroy the Gulf Coast, bankrupt the insurance companies, and displace 10,000,000 of the 140M Americans who live on the coast (not all that unlikely when you think about it). All of a sudden, these 10M Americans realize that it is no longer feasible for them to live on the coast. What do they do? Head to Detroit, Cleveland, Toledo, and other cities where the property is cheap and latent manufacturing is plentiful (I'm also including a supply-chain disruption that re-invigorates American manufacturing). 

It's told from an oral history perspective, with the stories of our near future being said toward the end of this century. See below.

I need to wrap my head around what type of template to start with in EB. I have tons of climate data. There's just so much that it's hard to know where to start. Also, I'm not a proficient user. I'm learning on the fly. Any suggestions?

Local's Only
We arrived in Memphis two days after the evacuation. Me and Dad shared the driving, and I could tell that he needed the rest. Losing everything is exhausting work. We spent last night in the car, and we were running low on food, so Dad pulled into a grocery store while I doom scrolled on my phone, reading about how bad the storms were. They were saying that it would break the insurance companies, which I didn't understand, but from the way that they said it, I knew it was what business people considered the end of the world.