The role of the physical network inventory in a software defined network world

06-06-2020 09:34 AM
SpatialNinja
Esri Regular Contributor
3 2 3,568

Let me start by stating that I’m a solutions engineer for Esri, a geographic information systems (GIS) software vendor.  In our world, physical geography and location matter.  Esri has offered physical network inventory (PNI) solutions to the communications industry for many years. Which makes sense, because GIS is all about managing the geographic location of assets and spatially analyzing location information, so it’s the perfect technology for PNI. But as communication networks evolve, what does that mean for GIS?  As I began an existential crisis, I asked myself:

• What happens to the PNI in a world where software defined networking (SDN) and network function virtualization (NFV) takes over?
  • Are maps and location intelligence less important since network intelligence is less dependent on the physical hardware?
  • Does the physical network and location of switches or routers even matter anymore?
  • How will PNI solutions support NextGen network management in virtualized environments?
  • What role do location and GIS play in SDN?

Since I think spatially for a living, I figured I better get to work understanding the virtual world.

First off, what does SDN and NFV really mean? Well, it’s the evolution of networking where network functions like firewalls and web adapters (which have traditionally been hardcoded into hardware) get abstracted to a virtualized layer, called NFV services. These NFV services are controlled by one master traffic cop or controller, versus relying on the individual hardware itself.