How to find the center line of a polygon?

11-20-2017 10:30 AM
VíctorGómez
New Contributor

I need to obtain the axes of a road as they appear in the image, so that they reach the end of the street, with the resulting axis being the longest in the polygon.

I have already tried with the tool "Collapse Dual to Centerlines", using the "PolygonToCenterline (Skeleton)" and there is no way to get it.

Please, if someone could help me, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

I attach an example image with the results I want to obtain. The orange polygon would be the surface of the road and the yellow line would be the axis of the street:

Results

0 Kudos
6 Replies
TedKowal
Occasional Contributor III

This tool may be of some help?   I have no personal experience with it.... http://www.arcgis.com/home/item.html?id=bc642731870740aabf48134f90aa6165 

JoshuaBixby
MVP Esteemed Contributor

If you can post a sample polygon data set to compliment the image, that would be most helpful.

JamesMacKay3
Occasional Contributor

I've used ET GeoWizards' "Create Centerlines" tool to do this with some success, but it has a few drawbacks:

• It dissolves adjacent polygons, so to get true centrelines I had to run the tool once per feature by first extracting each individual feature to a new class, then merging all of the output classes.  (The tool didn't seem to honour layer selections when I used it @ GeoWizards version 11.2 for ArcGIS 10.3).
  • For polygons that have an ambiguous direction, the centreline usually comes out as a multi-part polyline shaped like the letter X.
  • The centrelines seem to veer off randomly to one side toward the end of some (maybe 5-10%?) of the polygons.
DuncanHornby
MVP Notable Contributor