Trying to do a selection, then export to PDF

Jump to solution
08-11-2022 09:39 AM
LeonConsus
New Contributor II

Hello, I am a newbie ArcPy/Python user and am struggling with getting a mapseries to export with Python code.  I would like to have the code open the APRX, select from the index layer dates that have fallen in the last 2 days, then run the ms.exportToPDF on the selected.  I am using Python 3.9.11 and Arcpro 3.0

Here is the code I have (i have some print functions splattered throughout for data/variable checking):

import arcpy, os, sys
relpath = os.path.dirname(sys.argv[0])
print(relpath)

from datetime import date, timedelta
today = date.today()
print(today)
date2 = today - timedelta(days=2)
date_time = date2.strftime("%m/%d/%Y")
print(date2)

aprx = arcpy.mp.ArcGISProject(r"W:\1.GIS\TEMP\AutoExports\PreSites_bu.aprx")
l = aprx.listLayouts()[0]
print ("Printing map series for layout: {}".format(l.name))

sqlquery = '"' + "EditDate" + '"' + " >= " + date_time

print(sqlquery)

if not l.mapSeries is None:
ms = l.mapSeries
if ms.enabled:
ms = l.mapSeries
indexLyr = ms.indexLayer
# arcpy.ca.SelectLayerByDateAndTime(indexLyr, "NEW_SELECTION", "SINGLE_TIME_FIELD", "EditDate", None, None, "DATE", "RECENCY", "2 Days")
arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management(indexLyr, "NEW_SELECTION", sqlquery)
ms.exportToPDF("W:\1.GIS\TEMP\Presite.pdf", "SELECTED")

I have tried using the REM'd out selection using recency, and also the active selection using the built "sqlquery".  I am getting this error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "W:\BCHydro\1.GIS\TEMP\AutoExports\BCH_AutoExportPresite.py", line 30, in <module>
arcpy.SelectLayerByAttribute_management(indexLyr, "NEW_SELECTION", sqlquery)
File "C:\Program Files\ArcGIS\Pro\Resources\ArcPy\arcpy\management.py", line 10780, in SelectLayerByAttribute
raise e
File "C:\Program Files\ArcGIS\Pro\Resources\ArcPy\arcpy\management.py", line 10777, in SelectLayerByAttribute