Hi, I'm Sam Heavenrich

01-25-2022 07:38 PM
SamHeavenrich
New Contributor

Hi, I'm Sam Heavenrich and I'm currently a studying GIS through a graduate certificate program. I have no previous experience with ESRI or GIS so I'm here to learn and have fund while doing so. Before studying GIS I worked in the automotive industry as a systems engineer, but I'd like to find a new career in the field of GIS.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
jcarlson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Hello and welcome! GIS is a great field to get into. It's incredibly broad, so be sure to get a taste of all the different aspects of it. There are loads of free courses in the Esri Training Catalog, and even more if your institution has a maintenance-level subscription.

What made you want to transition into GIS? What do you envision doing with it?

- Josh Carlson
Kendall County GIS
0 Kudos
SamHeavenrich
New Contributor

Hi Josh,

I found out about GIS as a potential career from a job quiz hosted by the government of Canada that I took after realizing how unmotivated I was to pursue a career in automotive engineering. It sounded like GIS jobs can have a meaningful impact in a wide range of areas which is very appealing to me. I have a bit of background in web and software development so being able to leverage that experience in a new way is exciting. I envision myself in some way working in conservation, although I'm still exploring the wide range of specializations with the field.

0 Kudos
JayantaPoddar
MVP Esteemed Contributor

Hi Sam,

Welcome to the Esri Community.

Adding to Josh's recommendations, here are a few other helpful resources that you could explore.

In case of any specific query related to an ArcGIS Product/ workflow at any point of time, please feel free to ask your question.

Think Location
0 Kudos
SamHeavenrich
New Contributor

Hi Jayanta,

Thanks for the links!

0 Kudos
RKathieMcClung
New Contributor III

Hi Sam,