Created a custom map using existing layers and custom table data

Jump to solution
06-13-2022 06:26 AM
SharanSaboji
New Contributor II

Hi everyone, I am trying to create a map that shows the cities of the San Francisco bay area. For this, I found a layer shown in the attached screenshot. I want to further refine this by limiting the city region polygons to the coastline. I also have a csv file that lists some numerical data for each of the cities. When I tried uploading it as content and bringing it into the map via tables, I didn't get the desired results.

I am still very new to gis, so any help to relevant tutorials would be really appreciated.

Screenshot_20220613-061123~2.png

Screenshot_20220613-061754~2.png

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
HeatherSmith
Esri Contributor

@SharanSaboji 

When you fill out the parameters for the join tool, in step 3, only choose one join field from each table: soiname and projects.

fields.png

This part of the tool defines which are the matching fields. It does not define which fields to transfer. By default, all of the fields are transferred. You only need one pair of matching fields to make the transfer happen.

Try the tool again using the parameters I provide in the earlier screenshot (with only one field from each layer in step 3). The results I got look like this:

join_results.png

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
HeatherSmith
Esri Contributor

Hi @SharanSaboji .

Hi Sharan,

My guess is that you want to display the data from the table on the map, using the polygons in the screenshot that you shared.
To do this, you need to join the csv table to the spatial layer with a common field. You can do this in Map Viewer Classic, which has analysis tools.

Above the map, click Open in Map Viewer Classic.
In the side pane, click Content. Make sure both your spatial layer (San Francisco Bay Region Spheres of Influence) and your csv layer are listed. If not, click the Add button to find and add them.