Fun with GIS 313: School and the Geographic Approach

09-26-2022 07:34 AM
CharlieFitzpatrick
Esri Regular Contributor
0 0 751
As a kid growing up in the country, with good eyesight and guidance from family, I was good at spotting and identifying birds and animals at a distance, based on habitat, shape, and behavior. But I had a terrible time coping with a human landscape, particularly cities. It was very hard for me to translate between what I saw in the typical small-scale 2D map and my real-life human-scale side-view of the 3D physical world. Overhead views of a topographic map or even a road map taunted me like so many treasure maps. In college, I studied geography because it helped me s-l-o-w-l-y to find and grasp the patterns and relationships of what was to me a cloaked world. I  struggled with large-scale (local) geography, even while teaching, until the arrival of maps on computers. Hours of studying shapes and locations -- features with attributes -- built recognition of patterns and relationships. The subsequent merging of GIS (with its infinite capacity to vary visible content) and GPS (with its ability to show current and past location, and thus both personal direction and compass direction, yielding context) was to me like opening the door to the biggest library imaginable.

hometurf.jpg

The simple sign above my classroom blackboard said “Geography is three questions: What’s where? Why is it there? So what?” The first question seeks both “the where” and “the what” — the infinite catalogue of locations and their characteristics — and shows that things vary between here and there, and between time1 and time2. The second question seeks the factors — large and small — that shape these variations. The third question seeks the impact of the first two.

UrbanLandscape.jpg