HOW TO RETURN A NOTE ERROR WHEN INPUTTING AN INVALID CHARACTER

09-30-2022 12:25 AM
jantolihao
Occasional Contributor

Hello everyone!

I am new to ArcGIS Survey123 Connect. I have a hidden field {charac} which contains characters in the default column. I used the function regex (., ${charac}) as constraint in the {name} field to prevent users from inputting characters in the {charac} field.

jantolihao_1-1664516532086.png

Question is, how to trigger an error note and code it in the relevant column the moment users include those invalid characters as input in the {name} field?

For example:

An error note "Error: The name field contains invalid characters!" will appear once a sample input "MARIA'S. CRUZ" (with invalid characters: apostrophe and period) is inputted in the name field.

I appreciate any hints or ideas on this. Thank you very much in advance.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
ChristopherCounsell
MVP Regular Contributor

Not sure why you have a hidden question. You can just include the values in the constraint expression. 

For the 'name_' question:

• Add a regex constraint listing the values e.g. for  ' \ & @ ; " / ? + # $
    not(regex(.,'[|\x27|\x5C&@;"/?+#$]'))
  • Another example, limit the range of input characters to letters by adding the below to the constraint column:
    regex(.,'^[A-Za-z]*$')
  • Add a constraint message saying "Please do not input special characters"

https://doc.arcgis.com/en/survey123/desktop/create-surveys/xlsformformulas.htm#ESRI_SECTION2_BED1A39...

https://doc.arcgis.com/en/survey123/desktop/create-surveys/xlsformformulas.htm#ESRI_SECTION1_8979CBF...

Also noted you have renamed the name field to 'name_'. Would definitely recommend just a better field name that is not 'name' as it's a reserved word, and affixing '_' isn't the best fix...

0 Kudos
jantolihao
Occasional Contributor

Hello. Thank you very much for replying.