Retrieve layer simple line symbol color

Jump to solution
01-28-2022 06:19 PM
DavidPuckett
Occasional Contributor

How do I retrieve the color of a simple line symbol from specific layers in a web map?

I'm using an existing web map and want to create my own symbols for 3 of the layers in the map. I am able to create the full legend via the sample but I'm struggling to simply grab colors. In the image below, the full legend created from the LegendInfoListModel is at the bottom in the tab but I need to color the rectangles at the top according to the legend info (hard coded now). I am a web developer so perhaps am missing a pattern here. Any help?

DavidPuckett_0-1643422460249.png

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JamesBallard1
Esri Regular Contributor

@DavidPuckett interesting, yes could be something with the data. I am getting the name printed out, but it does depend on which legendInfo it is, and it will also depend on the source data online and whether that contains any name info.

Row {
    Component.onCompleted: {
        if (index !== -1) {
            let legendInfo = map.legendInfos.get(index);
            console.log(legendInfo.name);
        }
    }

Using that with the sample prints as follows as I scroll through the legend:

qml: 0 - 61
qml: 62 - 264
qml: 265 - 759
qml: 760 - 1900
qml: 1901 - 9409
qml: 
qml: 
qml: 
qml: Camping
qml: Dining
qml: Drinking Water
qml: Medical Facility

You can see that some of the legend entries here don't contain any "label"

https://sampleserver6.arcgisonline.com/arcgis/rest/services/Census/MapServer/legend?f=pjson 

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Nicholas-Furness
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi David.

If you have the legend info, you should have access to the symbol.