ArcGIS Runtime SDK connection with Oracle (19c) Geodatabase

Jump to solution
10-18-2021 04:52 AM
HammadMuddassir
New Contributor

Hi, I am new at ArcGIS runtime SDK. Is there anyway this sdk can connect with oracle 19c Geodatabase (local machine)? if there is a way, can anyone give me links of some documents or sample codes. Any help will be appreciated. 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
MarkBaird
Esri Regular Contributor

@HammadMuddassir 10.2.4 of ArcGIS Runtime is a very old release and no longer supported.  It sounds like you are migrating an app from Map Objects, so replacing it with another outdated product isn't recommended.

You need to be using the latest version which is 100.12.0.  

I really would step back and look at your workflows and see if you can modernise them.  Although we do support direct connect to SDE databases via Local Server, there will be a license cost implication to using this.  It is likely to be more cost effective to access your data using an ArcGIS Server instance and there are several other benefits to using this as I've detailed in an earlier post.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
MarkBaird
Esri Regular Contributor

The usual way of accessing the data is via a feature service which is published using ArcGIS Server.  This gives you the rest endpoints for accessing the data which we conveniently have API for accessing.

This is an example of how you would access the data via a feature service: https://github.com/Esri/arcgis-runtime-samples-java/tree/main/feature_layers/feature-layer-feature-s...

There are other workflows available, but its probably best if you explain exactly what you are trying to achieve and we can give you some ideas of the best solution.

0 Kudos
HammadMuddassir
New Contributor