Not sure where to start...

Jump to solution
09-19-2021 02:50 AM
PaulCleverleyArup
New Contributor II

Hi - new to this community - I'm a programmer not a GIS expert. I'm trying to find which classes/functions I can use from a Python program, external to ArcPro, using arcpy in order to change field values in a .PAGX file.  Can anyone help me find out if this is even feasible (or even sensible)?

Thanks! 

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
IhabHassan
Esri Contributor

Hi @PaulCleverleyArup 
Yes, you can use Python IDEs like VSCode or Pycharm to write python code and use arcpy or any of the packages in the default Pro python environment.
When you say "using arcpy in order to change field values", I assume here that you want to edit features in your ArcGIS Pro project. If that is correct, then I would suggest going through this doco page and sample code provided:

https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/latest/arcpy/data-access/updatecursor-class.htm

Regards

Ihab

Regards
Ihab

View solution in original post

6 Replies
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

Are you saying without a Pro license/installation?

0 Kudos
PaulCleverleyArup
New Contributor II
Hi David,

Thanks for your response. Full corporate licensing is in place so that shouldn't be an issue, I hope :-)!

0 Kudos
IhabHassan
Esri Contributor

Hi @PaulCleverleyArup 
Yes, you can use Python IDEs like VSCode or Pycharm to write python code and use arcpy or any of the packages in the default Pro python environment.
When you say "using arcpy in order to change field values", I assume here that you want to edit features in your ArcGIS Pro project. If that is correct, then I would suggest going through this doco page and sample code provided:

https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/latest/arcpy/data-access/updatecursor-class.htm

Regards

Ihab

Regards
Ihab
PaulCleverleyArup
New Contributor II
Many many thanks!